NEED HELP? 1300 367 897
0 My Cart

Jamie takes the "Whinners Cup" at the end of the 2008 V8 Supercar Championship

Garth Tander may have won the final race of the 2008 V8 season at Oran Park Raceway, but that wasn't enough to stop Team Vodafone's Jamie Whincup from taking the crown as the 2008 champion.

Ford Performance Racing's (FPR) Mark "Frosty" Winterbottom took an eventual second place in the Championship, despite some dramatic twists and turns over the final race weekend.

The Orrcon Steel Ford Credit FPR Falcon driver started from P23 in the first race of the day after a pit lane penalty on the Saturday cost him a top 10 finish. He battled to 12th but Garth Tander, who was snapping at Frosty's heels for second in the Championship, took victory, piling the pressure on for the final race of the year.

Steven "Richo" Richards, racing with the number 120 on his Castrol FPR Falcon in celebration of Dunlop's 120th birthday, seemed to be heading for 5th in the Championship after a podium finish in the day's first race, when he was edged out of second by Russell Ingall in the dying laps. After a 10-second penalty for moving off too quickly, Richo was eventually relegated to 8th in the Championship.

December 2008