NEED HELP? 1300 367 897
0 My Cart

Bathurst 12hr one-two for Dunlop

Wollongong driver Damien White has proven that his win in the 2008 WPS Bathurst 12 Hour Showroom Enduro was no fluke by leading a Dunlop one-two across the line in this year's race held at Mount Panorama.

White once again piloted his team's #1 TMR Australia machine to the chequered flag for car owner Rod Salmon and new 2009 team-mate and dual Bathurst 1000 winner, Tony Longhurst.

"Winning the 12 hour race two years in a row is better than my two ute championships and I'm really looking forward to next year," said White.

Following White across the line to take second place was Tony Ricciardello for the West Surfing Products team and his fellow Western Australian team-mates Stuart Kostera and Glyn Crimp, who were both making their debut at Mount Panorama.

"After four 1000km races, this was my first 12 Hour race and it was a great experience. Reliability wasn't an issue all weekend and everything ran like clockwork," said Ricciardello.

"It has been a good bonding experience and it was even better to make the podium. Overall, it was a great team effort and big wraps must go to Glyn and Stuart along with Alan Heaphy and his team at Team Mitsubishi Ralliart Australia."

Both teams were rarely far from the lead in a strong display from their cars and drivers, as well as the Dunlop DZ03G tyres they were both using. This tyre, made famous for its domination of tarmac rallying, has now established an even stronger reputation for circuit racing. In fact the Dunlop DZ03G tyre was the most popular choice of all cars in the epic race, being chosen by 50% of competitors. In all, four of the top five cars used the dominant rubber.

Also racing at the event were former Bathurst 1000 winner John Bowe, whose team had to retire in the fifth hour after team boss Jim Hunter made contact with a concrete barricade, Australian actor Eric Bana, whose team managed a top 10 finish, and TV personality Grant Denyer who was competing in his first race since suffering a serious back injury.

2009 WPS Bathurst 12 Hour Showroom Enduro Outright Results - Top Five

1. #1 R.Salmon/T.Longhurst/D.White - Mitsubishi EVO X (239 laps) - DUNLOP

2. #55 G.Crimp/T.Ricciardello/S.Kostera - Mitsubishi Evo X (239 laps) - DUNLOP

3. #35 J.Bargwana/S.Knight/B.Jones - Mitsubishi Evo X (238 laps)

4. #43 D.Wall/D.Wall/T.Symonds - Mitsubishi Evo IX GSR (237 laps) - DUNLOP

5. #11 B.Morcom/L.Searle/P.Stubber - BMW 335i (237 laps) - DUNLOP

Mar 2009